Old Crescent RFC Under 20’s took on Clonwilliam RFC in the Final of the North Munster Under 20 League on Garryowen FC’s 3G pitch in Dooradoyle tonight in very cold but mostly dry conditions.
Crescent opened the scoring after 10 minutes with a penalty converted by our No 10, Conor Lenihan.
Midway through the first half, Crescent won a line-out close to the Clonwilliam line and scored a try after a well driven maul over the Clon line. Geoffrey Coyne was credited with the touchdown under the mass of bodies.  Conor Lenihan added the conversion to put Crescent 10 points clear.
Clonwilliam got into the game and began to exert pressure on the Crescent pack. On the half hour, Clon were awarded a penalty with was converted by their No 10, Niall Leahy.
With half time approaching, Clonwilliam struck deep into the Crescent half and after a series of forward attacks Tommy Allen crashed over the Crescent line to score a well deserved try.  Niall Leahy added the conversion to leave the teams tied at 10 points apiece at half time.
Seven minutes into the second half, Crescent struck the decisive blow when Paul McNamara forced his way over the Clon line to touch down after a series of Crescent attacks in the Clon 22.  Conor Lenihan added the conversion to put Crescent back in front.
For the rest of the second half, Crescent had several chances to go further ahead and Clonwilliam had several chances to get back into contention but both teams showed superb defensive qualities in denying each other any further scores.
Old Crescent emerged winners by 17 points to 10 after a thrilling and entertaining game of rugby.  Old Crescent RFC Under 20 Captain, Rory Cunningham, accepted the Frank Keane Trophy which was presented by Brian Nolan, North Munster Committee, Munster Rugby.
Old Crescent has now won the North Munster Under 20 League for the last three years, a fantastic achievement which is a credit to all who have played Under 20 rugby with Old Crescent over the last three years, and to work put in by our Under 20 Management and Coaches over that period. Congratulation to all!